Brief History of Holy Rosary Church, Aurora, MN 1908-2016

The city of Aurora grew out of the mining locations, was established in 1903 and began to be built on the present site in 1905. The Catholic people of Aurora built a church in 1906 and were first served by a priest living in Eveleth. This community was officially incorporated as Holy Rosary Church on June 3, 1908. In 1953 the church was remodeled, but the people were outgrowing the church with the 1954 census at 1,311 people in 344 families. On April 8, 1957 the church was destroyed by fire. Six months later, construction began on the current church building which was completed in February 1959 and was dedicated by Bishop Lawrence Glenn on March 8, 1959. In the spring of 1981 a Youth Center was opened and served the youth of both the church and town until 2005.

Aurora now has a population of 1,750 and the church has a population of 240 families/450 people. In February-September 2015 we merged with Queen of Peace, Hoyt Lakes and St. John's, Biwabik to form Our Lady of Hope Parish. We are all members now of the same parish, with one set of trustees, one Financial Council and one Pastoral Council.

Priests who have served Holy Rosary Church, Aurora:

Mission Pastors		Resident Pastors		
M. Bilban	1906-08	Aloysius L. Pirnat	1908-11	
Francis Saloven	1911-13	John Jershe	1927-30	
Joseph Pollak	1913	Timothy Culligan	1930-32	
Patrick J. Lydon	1913-14	Thaddeus McCarthy	1932-34	
Aloysius L. Pirnat	1914	Patrick S. Flynn	1934-46	
Richard O'Gorman	1914-15	Andrew P. Crawford	1946-47	
Anton Leskovik	1916	Edmund Mockler	1947-49	
M. Bilban	1916-17	David Taylor	1949-52	
John Bigley	1917-18	Mirko J. Godina	1952-59	
A. L. Dufresne	1918-19	Steven Savinshek	1959-72	
Joseph L. Quillien	1919	John Dolsina	1972-87	
John Jershe	1919-25	John Sustarsic	1987-93	
		Peter Muhich	1993-96	
Assistant Pastors		Joseph Sirba	1996-2003	
Innocent Koncnik	1954-58	David Forsman	2003-07	
Steven Savinshek	1958-59	William Skarich	2007-08	
Alvin Yard	1959-64	Richard Banker	2008-09	
Cletus Pifher	1964-66	Keith Bertram	2009	
Herbert Graf	1966-67	Steven Daigle	2010-present	
Joseph Mulangattil	2005-06			